Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem accusantium doloremque. Perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem accusa.
Recent Posts

British Hairdressing Awards 2019 Winners Announced

British Hairdressing Awards 2019 Winners Announced

British Hairdressing Awards 2019, organised by Hairdressers Journal and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, took place on 25th November at London’s Grosvenor House. The star-studded ‘Oscars’ ceremony of the hair world was hosted by TV personality Rylan Clark-Neal, alongside HJ’s executive director, Jayne Lewis-Orr and Schwarzkopf Professional’s General Manager, Julian Crane. More than 1,750 of the top hairdressing talent from across the country attended the awards, which is a celebration of the most creative and technically gifted hairstylists in Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Hosts Schwarzkopf Professional presented a stunning ‘Celebration of Colour’ show created by power team: Essential Looks Global Colourist Lesley Jennison and Schwarzkopf Professional Global Editorial Stylist Tyler Johnston.

Winning the ultimate accolade of the night was Robert Eaton from Russell Eaton Hair in Leeds, who was announced 2019 British Hairdresser of the Year. It was a double celebratory night for him, as he was also inducted into the hallowed British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame thanks to his three consecutive Schwarzkopf Professional Colour Technician of the Year wins in 2018, 2017 and 2016.

Federico Patelli from TONI&GUY Victoria won the inaugural Trend Image of the Year title – a new category for entrants under the age of 30 to showcase incredible skill in just one photograph. The second addition to this year’s line-up was International Collection of the Year, which was awarded to Jacky Chan from Australia. 

The awards covered were a total of 18 categories, covering both regional and specialist collections including men’s hairdressing, avant-garde work and afro.

Among other winners, East Yorkshire’s city of Hull had two winners – Rick Roberts from Beverley won Afro, and Alexander Turnbull from Hull gained the crown in North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year category. Artistic Team went to Midlands salon group Mark Leeson, and Essex bagged men’s hairdresser thanks to Jim Shaw & Daisy Carter from Essensuals in Billericay. The one to watch Newcomer award went to Alex Morton from Jamie Stevens and the hotly contested London Hairdresser of the Year title was won by Andy Heasman from RUSH Victoria.

Taking home a trio of titles was TONI&GUY, whose female partnership of Hayley Bishop and Sophie Springett from TONI&GUY North Audley Street impressed with their highly intricate, textured work to pick up Avant-Garde, whilst Jon Wilsdon from TONI&GUY Deansgate in Manchester won North Western and young star Federico Patelli from TONI&GUY Victoria picked up the inaugural Trend Image prize.

Two further styling stars were welcomed into the Hall of Fame 2019 for their triple wins. Michelle Thompson for her hat trick in Afro Hairdresser of the Year, and Marcello Moccia for a three-time triumph in North Western Hairdresser of the Year. Securing a spot in the Hall of Fame 2020 was Martin Crean from MODE Hair in Gloucestershire, who won Wales & South West Hairdresser for the third time.